通常配送無料 詳細
通常1~3か月以内に発送します。 在庫状況について
この商品は、Amazon.co.jp が販売、発送します。 ギフトラッピングを利用できます。

お届け先住所
アドレス帳を使用するにはサインインしてください
または
正しい郵便番号を入力してください。
または
+ ¥ 257 関東への配送料
中古品: ほぼ新品 | 詳細
発売元 bookcloseouts_jp
コンディション: 中古品: ほぼ新品
コメント: Unread, publisher over-stock copy, excellent condition. Ships from Canada by Air Mail, Delivery within 2-4 weeks.
この商品をお持ちですか? マーケットプレイスに出品する
裏表紙を表示 表紙を表示
サンプルを聴く 再生中... 一時停止   Audible オーディオエディションのサンプルをお聴きいただいています。
3点すべてのイメージを見る

Soldier Girls: The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War (英語) ペーパーバック – 2015/7/7


その他(7)の形式およびエディションを表示する 他のフォーマットおよびエディションを非表示にする
Amazon 価格
新品 中古品
Kindle版
ペーパーバック
¥ 2,068
¥ 2,067 ¥ 546
CD, Audiobook ¥ 5,880 ¥ 5,817

AmazonStudent
【学生限定】Prime Student会員なら、この商品は10%Amazonポイント還元。6か月無料体験登録をして、お得に本を買おう。(Amazonマーケットプレイスでのご注文は対象外)
click to open popover

キャンペーンおよび追加情報

Kindle 端末は必要ありません。無料 Kindle アプリのいずれかをダウンロードすると、スマートフォン、タブレットPCで Kindle 本をお読みいただけます。

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Android

無料アプリを入手するには、Eメールアドレスを入力してください。



Amazonランキング大賞
2017年に洋書で最も売れた本をご紹介 >詳しく見る

商品の説明

内容紹介

“A raw, intimate look at the impact of combat and the healing power of friendship” (People): the lives of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and the effect of their military service on their personal lives and familiesnamed a best book of the year by Publishers Weekly.

“In the tradition of Adrian Nicole LeBlanc, Richard Rhodes, and other masters of literary journalism, Soldier Girls is utterly absorbing, gorgeously written, and unforgettable” (The Boston Globe). Helen Thorpe follows the lives of three women over twelve years on their paths to the military, overseas to combat, and back home…and then overseas again for two of them. These women, who are quite different in every way, become friends, and we watch their interaction and also what happens when they are separated. We see their families, their lovers, their spouses, their children. We see them work extremely hard, deal with the attentions of men on base and in war zones, and struggle to stay connected to their families back home. We see some of them drink too much, have affairs, and react to the deaths of fellow soldiers. And we see what happens to one of them when the truck she is driving hits an explosive in the road, blowing it up. She survives, but her life may never be the same again.

Deeply reported, beautifully written, and powerfully moving, Soldier Girls is “a breakthrough work...What Thorpe accomplishes in Soldier Girls is something far greater than describing the experience of women in the military. The book is a solid chunk of American history...Thorpe triumphs” (The New York Times Book Review).

レビュー

"A breakthrough work... What Thorpe accomplishes in SOLDIER GIRLS is something far greater than describing the experience of women in the military. The book is a solid chunk of American history -- detailing the culture's failing, resilience and progress... Thorpe triumphs." (The New York Times Book Review)

"In the tradition of Adrian Nicole LeBlanc, Richard Rhodes, and other masters of literary journalism, SOLDIER GIRLS is utterly absorbing, gorgeously written, and unforgettable." (Boston Globe)

"A dynamic understanding of what it’s been like for Guard members who unexpectedly found themselves shipped off to the front lines of the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq... highly complex matters are all made palpably real through the prism of this book’s three heroines’ lives." (The New York Times)

With a novelist’s perception of character, drama, and telling detail, Helen Thorpe magically weaves together the stories of three very different but equally compelling women soldiers. Taken together, their stories provide an intimate window on life in the military, the impact of war, and the difficult transition to home. This is an absolutely terrific and important work.” (Doris Kearns Goodwin)

"Thorpe follows three women, tracking their ups and downs withfaithful detail in a brilliant tableau of their overlapping lives for 12 yearsas they do multiple tours in Afghanistan and Iraq and readjust to civilianlife...Soldier Girls raises important questions about how men and women serve together and thedifferences in how they experience war, enabling us to see the subtle challengesfemale soldiers face — the hardships that don’t make easy headlines." (The Washington Post)

"A thoughtful, fascinating and often heartbreaking account... Thorpe manages to burrow deeply into the lives of these women...incredibly intimate." (Miami Herald)

"A nuanced look at the lives of female soliders that is as intimate as it is groundbreaking." (O Magazine)

“A raw, intimate look at the impact of combat and the healing power of friendship.” (People magazine)

"A vivid and intensely personal account of the lives of three women whose only common denominator had been that they joined the Indiana National Guard never imagining they might end up in a war zone... Thorpe's matter-of-fact tone and clear and concise prose make the book all the more riveting... a captivating read, an important book and a stunning accomplishment." (Lorraine Dusky, Military History magazine)

"Heart-breaking... absorbing, funny... a cry worth attending, sounded by a band of sisters put in harm's way." (Newsday)

商品の説明をすべて表示する

登録情報

  • ペーパーバック: 432ページ
  • 出版社: Scribner; Reprint版 (2015/7/7)
  • 言語: 英語
  • ISBN-10: 1451668112
  • ISBN-13: 978-1451668117
  • 発売日: 2015/7/7
  • 商品パッケージの寸法: 14 x 2.8 x 21.3 cm
  • おすすめ度: この商品の最初のレビューを書き込んでください。
  • Amazon 売れ筋ランキング: 洋書 - 1,027,862位 (洋書の売れ筋ランキングを見る)
  • さらに安い価格について知らせる
    この商品を出品する場合、出品者サポートを通じて更新を提案したいですか?


カスタマーレビュー

まだカスタマーレビューはありません。
他のお客様にも意見を伝えましょう

Amazon.com で最も参考になったカスタマーレビュー

Amazon.com: 5つ星のうち4.2 230 件のカスタマーレビュー
4人のお客様がこれが役に立ったと考えています.
5つ星のうち5.0Insightful - this is the side of war the politicians try hard not to mention
2015年2月22日 - (Amazon.com)
Amazonで購入
5つ星のうち4.0Three Indiana Women Soldiers
2017年6月29日 - (Amazon.com)
Amazonで購入
1人のお客様がこれが役に立ったと考えています.
5つ星のうち5.0Human well-being.
2014年11月14日 - (Amazon.com)
Amazonで購入
1人のお客様がこれが役に立ったと考えています.
5つ星のうち3.0The book gave me new insight to lives of young ...
2015年11月6日 - (Amazon.com)
Amazonで購入
5つ星のうち4.0"....life got in the way."
2015年2月13日 - (Amazon.com)
Amazonで購入