¥ 5,867
通常配送無料 詳細
通常1~4か月以内に発送します。 在庫状況について
この商品は、Amazon.co.jp が販売、発送します。 ギフトラッピングを利用できます。
この商品をお持ちですか? マーケットプレイスに出品する
裏表紙を表示 表紙を表示
サンプルを聴く 再生中... 一時停止   Audible オーディオエディションのサンプルをお聴きいただいています。
2点すべてのイメージを見る

Dox Thrash: An African-American Master Printmaker Rediscovered (The Jacob Lawrence Series on American Artists) (英語) ハードカバー – 2001/12


その他()の形式およびエディションを表示する 他のフォーマットおよびエディションを非表示にする
Amazon 価格
新品 中古品
ハードカバー
"もう一度試してください。"
¥ 5,867
¥ 5,867 ¥ 5,440

AmazonStudent

Amazon Student会員なら、この商品は+10%Amazonポイント還元(Amazonマーケットプレイスでのご注文は対象外)。

click to open popover

キャンペーンおよび追加情報

Kindle 端末は必要ありません。無料 Kindle アプリのいずれかをダウンロードすると、スマートフォン、タブレットPCで Kindle 本をお読みいただけます。

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Android

無料アプリを入手するには、Eメールアドレスを入力してください。



Amazon Fine Art
「Amazon Fine Art」には、日常に彩をそえる上質な現代アートが勢ぞろい。 詳細をチェック

商品の説明

内容紹介

Dox Thrash came of age as an artist in the 1920s and 1930s, a time when art in the United States began to offer accurate reflections of everyday life. Throughout his career Thrash drew on personal experience for the striking imagery in his work, with scenes ranging from childhood memories of the rural South to hard times in the urban centers of the North, patriotic defense work during wartime, and poetic portraits of his community and its residents.

Born in Georgia in 1893, Thrash left home at a young age and worked his way north to Chicago. After a decade of attending evening and day classes at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, he spent the next few years living in Boston, Connecticut, and New York before settling in the late 1920s in Philadelphia, where he remained until his death in 1965.

During the early years of the Depression in Philadelphia, Thrash found part-time work as a graphic designer, while also beginning to make a name for himself as a painter. But it was as a printmaker that he would leave his most lasting mark. In the late 1940s he received national attention for his role in the launching of a new printmaking technique, the carborundum print, developed in late 1937 in the Fine Print Workshop of the Federal Art Project. a branch of the government-sponsored Works Progress Administration (WPA).

It is Thrash's evocative carborundum prints that have most often been chosen for exhibition, both during his lifetime and after, but the artist was also a master of many other printmaking methods. Published here for the first time is an illustrated catalogue raisonne of all 188 prints Thrash is known to have made.

The four essays in this volume open windows on different aspects of the artist's life, offering a historical overview of his training and career as a printmaker; an examination of the inner workings of the Fine Print Workshop in Philadelphia, the only WPA workshop devoted entirely to the produciton of limited-edition prints; a re-creation of the Pyramid Club, Philadelphia's premier African American cultural and social institution in the 1940s and 1950s; and an investigation of Thrash's use of African American themes in his work.

Contributors include John Ittmann, Philadelphia Museum of Art; David Brigham, Worcester Art Museum; Cindy Medley-Buckner, independent scholar; and Kymberly N. Pinder, School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

レビュー

[Thrash's] depictions of everyday life, memories of the South, graceful nudes, and humanistic portraits convey an African American social realism that have hardly been appreciated until now... WPA artists made important contributions to American art history, and the African American artists among them are especially underrepresented in most collections, making this high-quality book a worthwhile purchase. Library Journal

商品の説明をすべて表示する

登録情報

  • ハードカバー: 176ページ
  • 出版社: Univ of Washington Pr; New.版 (2001/12)
  • 言語: 英語
  • ISBN-10: 0295981598
  • ISBN-13: 978-0295981598
  • 発売日: 2001/12
  • 商品パッケージの寸法: 23.6 x 2.2 x 28.7 cm
  • おすすめ度: この商品の最初のレビューを書き込んでください。
  • さらに安い価格について知らせる
    この商品を出品する場合、出品者サポートを通じて更新を提案したいですか?

  • 目次を見る

カスタマーレビュー

Amazon.co.jp にはまだカスタマーレビューはありません
星5つ
星4つ
星3つ
星2つ
星1つ

Amazon.com で最も参考になったカスタマーレビュー (beta)

Amazon.com: 5つ星のうち 5.0 5 件のカスタマーレビュー
3 人中、3人の方が、「このレビューが参考になった」と投票しています。
5つ星のうち 5.0 So Happy About Our Blossoming Relationship 2011/10/4
投稿者 P. Ramey - (Amazon.com)
形式: ハードカバー Amazonで購入
By chance I heard about this important art figure. An art professor friend was researching how best to present a retrospective of his works and at her mention of the name Dox Thrash - well the name alone intrigued me. I had to know more about him and found this book on Amazon used books. The seller sent the book immediately. The book, an ex-libary hardback book AND original dustjacket was in excellent condition. I've read and re-read this book and am searching for more information. This man proved as interesting as his name and from his artwork is (in my opinion) among the best of America's printmakers. He gained famed with the WPA and lived a successful life doing what he loved (and making money at it). I'm so happy about our blossoming relationship.
5つ星のうち 5.0 Five Stars 2016/6/13
投稿者 W. R. C., Sr. - (Amazon.com)
形式: ハードカバー Amazonで購入
All were well done.
2 人中、2人の方が、「このレビューが参考になった」と投票しています。
5つ星のうち 5.0 Dox Thrasg: An African-American Master Prinmaker 2008/10/18
投稿者 sunshine sc - (Amazon.com)
形式: ハードカバー Amazonで購入
Great authority on a rarely written about, but tremendously talented African-American artist. If you like expressive artists in the vein of Robert Gwathmey, Charles White, Egon Schielle, and contemporaries like Ernie Barnes you will truly enjoy this book.
5つ星のうち 5.0 A Good Read 2016/3/15
投稿者 consumer - (Amazon.com)
形式: ハードカバー Amazonで購入
Thoughtful study of an underrated master.
5つ星のうち 5.0 Five Stars 2015/4/17
投稿者 R. Whittington - (Amazon.com)
形式: ハードカバー Amazonで購入
Excellent book
これらのレビューは参考になりましたか? ご意見はクチコミでお聞かせください。